After completing Rust.Tokyo

dorayakikun
4 min readNov 4, 2019

--

photo by @katsumata_ryo

Preface

Hi. I’m dorayakikun.

One week has passed since Rust.Tokyo was held.

Despite the first challenge, more than 200 participants, it means a great success.

All in all, I think it is thanks to the cooperation of everyone involved in Rust.Tokyo.

Thank you so much.

From now on, I would like to write about my gratitude to each person who was involved in Rust.Tokyo, and my thoughts about Rust.Tokyo.

The following sentence will be a long one. I think if you have enough time to continue reading, please try it!

For Core Members

Rust.Tokyo has four core members.

The meeting came from a single Tweet.

@chikoski

He supported the Japanese Rust community from the beginning.

It is not an exaggeration to say that Rust.Tokyo would not have been realized without @chikoski’s comment.

In this event, he designed the entire event (Timetable, Networking Time, etc.) and served as a bridge to the international community.

Other than that, he helped me many times.

I can’t any thank you enough. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

@T5uku5hi

A little over a year ago, there was a time when Rust events were not held at all.

Then @ T5uku5hi appeared dashingly.

Take action Running Rust in Production was held to liven up the Rust community in Japan.

At Rust.Tokyo, he coordinated sponsors, tweeted official Twitter messages, and showed us around.

During the event, I was so busy with the proceedings of the meeting that I couldn’t concentrate on guiding the hall or asking for volunteers.

We can manage the meeting proceeding without any big thanks.

That was thanks to her.

@helloyuki_

He usually participates in Rust events in Japan as the main speaker and plays a role in livening up Rust events.

At Rust.Tokyo, He was mainly in charge of design.

(That Tokyo Tower motif logo is also the work of him!)

I found some comments about the cute tote bag at the event many times.

I think it was a good logo that was loved by the participants.

Thank you so much.

For Speakers

Most of the speakers were selected from CFP (Call For Proposal).

Since this is the first Rust Conference in Japan, I was very worried if there would be enough applications.

On the contrary, I was very happy to receive many applications.

I couldn’t see all of the sessions, but I think all of them were great because of the reaction from the participants.

Thank you so much.

For Sponsors

This is the first time Rust.Tokyo has been held.

Nobody knew if the event would really succeed or fail.

To be honest, they must have felt uneasy about cooperating with this event.

Nevertheless, many companies participated in this event.

As a matter of course, without the cooperation of the sponsor company, it would not have succeeded.

Thank you so much.

For Volunteers

We recruited volunteers online as a management staff of the association.

As a result, more than ten people entered.

If you hear ten people, you may feel that there are quite a lot of people, but I think it was a very strict number for an event like this.

In spite of this, they managed the event successfully.

Thank you so much.

For Participants

Thank you very much for your participation.

No matter how many places we provide, the event cannot succeed without the participants.

I am very happy that many people from areas other than Tokyo participated.

As we will discuss later, we are planning to continue the event.

We hope you all will join our next event.

About the management of the Event

When Rust.Tokyo planed, we referred to some of the preceding language communities.

RubyKaigi and JSConf EU were particularly affected.

We are strongly influenced by RubyKaigi, mainly in terms of the Code of Conduct and consideration for the diversity of participants.

JSConf EU is strongly influenced by the experience of the participants. (The PWA of the site is the best example.)

We also referred to the policies of various other language communities such as Go and Swift.

I can’t thank each of you, but I would like to take this opportunity to thank you.

@yosuke_furukawa consulted me many times as a senior organizer in the language community.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you.

As introduced in this section, I think Rust.Tokyo needs not only the Rust community but also various language communities.

At the end of the event Florian was wearing a Ruby T-shirt and a Rust parka, but it would be great if various languages supported each other like that.

It’s a bit off the subject, but Florian’s presentation itself was great.

I think it was a great announcement that symbolized the warmth of the Rust community.

Florian, thank you very much.

Me and Rust

Before summarizing, let me briefly introduce myself and Rust.

What happened to Rust? The following episode from rebuild.fm.

When I started learning with Rust, I was having a hard time getting it compiled.

And that’s what helped me κeen, qnighy.

Through these two people, I have learned the warmth of the Rust community and have been involved in activities to date.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you.

From now on

Rust.Tokyo will continue in the future.

I hope you will continue to be a fan of Rust in the future.

And finally

Now that things have come to an end, I’m thinking about resuming Rust LT activities.

At Rust.Tokyo, there were a lot of people who couldn’t talk in a relaxed manner, so it would be great if you could come and see us!

I would like to express my deep gratitude to my family for their cooperation in translating the sentence into English.

--

--

dorayakikun

Flag of Japan he/him. Web Developer. A founder of the http://rust.tokyo . An organizer of http://RustFest.global . All my own views.